nutright.blogg.se

Identity crisis mycomics
Identity crisis mycomics





identity crisis mycomics

Essentially I have been looking for comics about queer characters in their mid-thirties or older and the selection is very limited. I can talk about this project vaguely! It's still in development and looking for a publisher. Can you talk about that? Has getting older given you a new perspective on the Grease Bats characters? Or this comic where Scout makes a mistake that goes against their usual moral compass.Īfter focusing on queer & trans life during tumultuous 20s, you're planning a project about queers in their 30s.

identity crisis mycomics

I think some of my favorite comics are when they have to realize something about their own personality that is changing, like this comic where Andy is less extroverted than they told themselves they are. Although, the two of them have way more depth and heart than just a list of personality traits. In a way, both Andy and Scout came about from my own personality, my more extravagant, showy, extroverted side developing into Andy and the more insecure, shy, and anxious side of myself becoming Scout. I also think this means that readers can relate to more characters instead of just identifying with one of them. I'm hoping that makes them more well-rounded and individualized characters versus a characterization of one single person. I know these characters better than I know myself at times! Each character within Grease Bats is a reflection of friends and people within my community, all mixed up in a bunch of tiny small ways, so that there is no single person that a character is based off of. Ari, Taylor and Gwen have also been fun to draw and develop over the years. What has it been like getting to know these characters, and how did they appear for you at first? Have they grown and changed over time in contrast to what you originally thought of them?ĪRCHIE BONGIOVANNI: It has been a total joy to draw Andy and Scout for over five years, they've definitely grown but remain the nuanced characters I tried to make them into at the start of the comic. With the book centering so much around friendship and community, I imagine your own friends and community have contributed to these fictional stories to some effect. Annie MokĪNNIE MOK: Carta Monir's blurb on the back of Grease Bats states a common reflection about your work, which is that reading the comics feel like hanging with good friends. Grease Bats continues to run on Autostraddle, and Limerence Press put out A Quick & Easy Guide to They/Them Pronouns, co-authored with Tristan Jimerson. From Archie’s debut with their graphic novel Out of Hollow Water from 2D Cloud, they established an unwavering desire to expose the weirdness in life. Features “I Am The OPPOSITE Of A Perfectionist”: A Conversation With Archie BongiovanniĪrchie Bongiovanni’s rollicking, thoughtful, nuanced, funny comic strip Grease Bats, originally serialized on queer website Autostraddle, has finally been collected in a trade paperback from Boom! Box.







Identity crisis mycomics